ComputerEase Resources


Internet Safety
On this page you will find links to some of the best resources related to Internet Safety.

This site is the online companion to our "Keeping Children Safe in Cyberspace" presentation. For more information about having Karin Rex present this topic at your next convention, conference, or meeting, contact Karin directly. The "Keeping Children Safe in Cybersafe" presentation can be customized to any audience -- parents, teachers, law enforcement personnel, trainers, etc.

UPDATED MAY 2012


Section Index

Click on a section heading to scroll directly to that section.

Internet Safety Software Safety Solutions Homework Helpers
Great Sites for Families Search Tools for Kids Online Fun & Games




Internet Safety

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
CyberAngels http://www.cyberangels.org/
CyberTipLine (National Center for Missing and Exploited Children) http://www.cybertipline.org/
FBI Parent's Guide to Internet Safety http://www.fbi.gov/stats-services/publications/parent-guide/parent-guide
GetNetWise http://kids.getnetwise.org/
NetSmartz http://www.netsmartz.org/index.htm
NetSafeKids.com http://www.nap.edu/netsafekids/pro_set_guidelines.html
Safer-Internet.net http://www.safer-internet.net/default.asp


[Return to Section Index]



Software Safety Solutions

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
BSecure http://www.bsecure.com/Default.aspx
CyberSitter http://www.cybersitter.com/
CyberPatrol http://www.cyberpatrol.com/
K9WebProtection http://www1.k9webprotection.com/
McAfee (Antivirus) http://www.mcafee.com/us/
NetNanny http://www.netnanny.com/
SpectorSoft (Internet Montoring and Surveillance) http://www.spectorsoft.com
Symantec (Antivirus and Internet Security) http://www.symantec.com


[Return to Section Index]



Homework Helpers

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
Discovery School
BJ Pinchbeck's Homework Helper
http://www.bjpinchbeck.com/
Fact Monster
from Information Please
http://www.factmonster.com/
Homework Center
from InfoPlease
http://www.infoplease.com/homework/
Homework Spot http://www.homeworkspot.com/
Jishka Homework Help http://www.jiskha.com/
Math and Reading Help for Kids http://math-and-reading-help-for-kids.org/
My Homework Helper
from RefDesk.com
http://www.refdesk.com/homework.html


[Return to Section Index]



Great Sites for Families

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
Amer. Library Assoc. Great Websites for Kids http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/greatwebsites/greatwebsiteskids.htm
Disney's Family Fun http://familyfun.go.com/
Kaboose http://www.kaboose.com/
Online Couponing and Shopping - Basic Consumer Safety http://coupons.answers.com/guide/13892702/Online-Couponing-and-Shopping---Basic-Consumer-Safety.html
PBSKids http://pbskids.org/
Scholastic.com http://www.scholastic.com/
Time for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/
Yuckiest Site on the Internet (Discovery) http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/


[Return to Section Index]



Search Tools for Kids

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
AskKids http://www.askkids.com/
Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
Education Index http://www.educationindex.com/
Fact Monster
from Information Please
http://www.factmonster.com/
Internet Public Library
Youth Division
http://www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/
Kids Search Tools http://www.rcls.org/ksearch.htm
KidsClick http://www.kidsclick.org/
Yahoo Kids http://kids.yahoo.com/


[Return to Section Index]



Online Fun & Games

Site Name URL (Web Page Address)
Games.com http://www.games.com/
Kids.com http://www.kidscom.com/games/isg/isg.html
Lego Games http://www.lego.com/en-us/games/default.aspx
MysteryNet http://kids.mysterynet.com/
Pogo.com http://www.pogo.com
Yahoo! Games http://games.yahoo.com/


[Return to Section Index]


Note: The Internet changes on a daily basis. If you come across a link on this page that does not work, that has packed up and left the Net, or that has simply been changed, please contact me. It would be especially helpful if you would include all of the pertinent information. ALSO: if you know of a tool that is not on this page, but should be, please let me know and I will investigate and possibly add it.

Contact me today!